This content requires Adobe Flash Player 10 or higher, and JavaScript.


Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA): Publication and database produced by the General Services Administration that lists the domestic assistance programs of all federal agencies and gives information about a program's authorization, fiscal details, accomplishments, regulations, guidelines, eligibility requirements, information contacts, and application and award process.

Critical Infrastructure/Key Resources (CI/KR): Critical Infrastructure are the assets, systems, and networks, whether physical or virtual, so vital to the United States that their incapacitation or destruction would have a debilitating effect on security, national economic security, public health or safety, or any combination thereof. Key Resources are publicly or privately controlled resources essential to the minimal operations of the economy and government.

Discretionary Grant: A grant (or cooperative agreement) for which the federal awarding agency generally may select the recipient from among all eligible recipients, may decide to make or not make an award based on the programmatic, technical, or scientific content of an application, and can decide the amount of funding to be awarded.

Earmark Grant: A grant that is appropriated by Congress prior to a peer review. The term "earmark" is a reference to the Congressional Record where the awards are written into the legislation specifically with the grant applicant's name, activity, and dollar amounts.

FEMA Regions: FEMA's Operations Section supports field elements in directing the delivery of federal assistance to support state and local response and recovery efforts. To accomplish this mission, the Operations Section integrates representatives of Emergency Support Functions (ESF) as defined by the National Response Plan (NRP), Department of Defense (DOD) and FEMA staff including its recovery programs. In an event, the Operations Section is organized into branches representing groups of related ESFs and program functions. The Disaster Operations Division is also responsible for the maintenance of the Regional Response Coordination Center (RRCC). Each FEMA region has an RRCC that serves as the Federal Government's immediate emergency coordination center in an affected region during the initial period following a disaster or catastrophic event.

Federal Assistance: The transfer of money, property, services, or anything of value, the principal purpose of which is to accomplish a public purpose of support or stimulation authorized by federal statute. Web-based system that focuses on the defense and protection of the food and agriculture sectors.

Grant: An award of financial assistance, the principle purpose of which is to transfer a thing of value from a federal agency to a recipient to carry out a public purpose of support or stimulation authorized by a law of the United States (see 31 U.S.C 6101 (3)). The U.S. Congress enacted legislation which led to the creation of, a source for finding and applying for, all discretionary grant opportunities from all federal agencies. It is designed to make grants research, application processing and management easier and more efficient. makes researching and applying for more than 1,000 different grant programs, representing more than $500 billion in annual grants, available to applicants all in one place.

Mandatory Grant: A grant (or cooperative agreement) awarded under a program where the authorizing statute requires the head of the agency or designee to make an award to each eligible entity under the conditions, and in the amount (or based on the formula), specified in the statute.

National Priorities: The National Preparedness Guidelines, developed pursuant to Homeland Security Presidential Directive (HSDP) 8 include a series of national priorities to guide preparedness efforts that meet the nation's most urgent needs. These priorities will be updated over time.

National Incident Management System (NIMS): Establishes standardized incident management processes, protocols, and procedures that all responders—federal, state, tribal, and local—will use to coordinate and conduct response actions. With responders using the same standardized procedures, they will all share a common focus, and will be able to place full emphasis on incident management when a homeland security incident occurs—whether terrorism or natural disaster. In addition, national preparedness and readiness in responding to and recovering from an incident is enhanced since all of the Nation's emergency teams and authorities are using a common language and set of procedures.

National Response Framework (NRF): Presents the guiding principles that enable all response partners to prepare for and provide a unified national response to disasters and emergencies. It establishes a comprehensive, national, all-hazards approach to domestic incident response.

State Administrative Agency (SAA): The SAA is the only entity eligible to apply to FEMA for State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) funds.

Target Capabilities: Describes the collective national capabilities required to prevent, protect against, respond to and recover from terrorist attacks, major disasters and other emergencies.

Footer Flourish


APHA American Public Health Association
AFG Assistance to Firefighters Grants
BISR Biannual Strategy Implementation Reports
CAPR Categorical Assistance Progress Report
CCP Citizens Corps Program
CCR Central Contractor Registration
CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CFDA Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
CI/KR Critical Infrastructure/Key Resources
CSREES Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service
CV Curriculum Vitae
DHS Department of Homeland Security
DoD Department of Defense
EMA Emergency Management Agency
EMPG Emergency Management Performance Grant Program
ESF Emergency Support Function
FAVD Food, Agriculture, and Veterinary Defense
FDA Food and Drug Administration
FEMA Federal Emergency Management Agency
FP&S Fire Prevention and Safety
FSR Financial Status Report
GPD Grants Programs Directorate
HHS Department of Health and Human Services
HPP Hospital Preparedness Program
HAS Homeland Security Advisor
HSGP Homeland Security Grant Program
HSPD Homeland Security Presidential Directive
IJ Investment Justification
ISIP Initial Strategy Implementation Plan
MMRS Metropolitan Medical Response System
NIFA National Institute of Food Agriculture
NIMS National Incident Management System
NRF National Response Framework
NRP National Response Plan
OMB Office of Management and Budget
RCPGP Regional Catastrophic Preparedness Grant Program
RFA Request for Applications
RFIP Request for Initial Proposals
SAA State Administrative Agency
SAFER Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response
SCG Station Construction Grant
SHSP State Homeland Security Program
USDA United States Department of Agriculture
Footer Flourish